July 23, 2018, 08:12:39 AM

Author Topic: I need help in potty training  (Read 4106 times)

Offline Tere

I need help in potty training
« on: November 03, 2012, 09:30:13 PM »
Good Morning!
I am a newbie here and will take time to get my feet wet........(no pun intended)........but first I would like to post a question. 

I have a precious (new to me) little 6 mo old Shih Tzu, named Lady Blu.  (She has one brown eye and one blue eye).  Blu or Blusey suits her just fine.

We are having a terrible time with potty training.  I try to take her "out" each hour!  Yes, each hour!  Sometimes she hits the paper, sometimes not.  When you least expect it, she wee's on the floor in my house!  HELP!  I know there is a secret to training a Shih Tzu.......I just do not know what it is.  This morning, I finally ordered 2 books on Shih Tzu's so I can better understand our little Princess!!!!!  Right now, I use that term loosely.  We have a little male 2 yr old Havanese and we never went thru any of this with him.

Can you help me please???????    TY   Ter'e

Totally Shih Tzu Forum

I need help in potty training
« on: November 03, 2012, 09:30:13 PM »

Offline Superness

• Global Moderator
  • Shih Tzu Amateur
    • Superness Shih Tzu
Re: I need help in potty training
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2013, 03:57:10 AM »
Hi Tere,

Here's what I suggest:

First thing to do is observe where your pup used to do her "thing". After determining her favorite spot, put a paper or dog pads on her favorite spot. If you see her do it in the paper/pads, praise her or give her a reward. Repeat this process until she learns how to pee in the right spot.

Another method which I am doing right now with my shih tzu: